No-knead brioche buns

25 Feb

This recipe was an attempt to redeem myself after my collapsing bread disaster; with no kneading apparently required and a very slow overnight rise I thought I would give it a go. The idea came from my very cool copy of Ideas in Food but is based on one from the BBC Good Food website.

I was a bit sceptical as to whether it would rise, be really heavy or taste like brioche. I have to say I was quite impressed, after peering at the dough nervously all evening as it didn’t seem to be “doing anything”, but the texture of the dough in the morning was much more elastic than I expected, and the buns did rise nicely.

They aren’t the same as a more traditional brioche, but then I did half the recipe  I’m posting as there are only two of us which made it a bit more fiddly (1 1/2 eggs is tricky to measure out, although you can keep the remainder to brush the tops with in the morning) but I would make it again as it was a lovely, super quick treat.

Ingredients

  • 200g butter , very soft
  • 2 tbsp golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs , plus 1 beaten for glazing the next day
  • 500g strong white bread flour
  • ½ tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 200ml whole milk

Method

Mix the butter, sugar and eggs in a large bowl – they’ll look a mess rather than coming together nicely.

Add the flour, yeast and salt and pour on the milk. Stir the mixture to make a sticky dough (use you hands if you prefer), cover the bowl and leave somewhere cool for the whole day or overnight.

Heat the oven to 190C/fan 170C/gas 5. Butter a 12-hole muffin or bun tin. Pull off lumps of dough the size of a clementine (flour your hands if it’s sticky) and form into a ball.

Drop into one of the holes and repeat. Brush the tops with egg and bake for 20 minutes, or until golden and cooked through.

2 Responses to “No-knead brioche buns”

  1. Rose Taylor August 2, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I wasn’t successful the first time I tried this and my buns were not rising. I guess it must have been the oven’s temp. I finally got it the second time around and had my kids enjoy it. Thanks for this recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe For Burger or Hot Dog Buns | Burger Recipes - February 29, 2012

    […] No-knead brioche buns(thehungrysparrow.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

