fig and prosciutto pizza

7 Aug

Making our own pizza dough is a bit of an indulgence, and I don’t think it will replace shop bought pizzas totally in our lives but some times I like to take a bit longer over things. In truth most of the time this recipe takes is letting the dough rise, and you can do something else while the yeast is doing its thing.

I have made pizza dough using the bread maker, and while this recipe means getting your hands and work top dirty is actually quicker. It also means I don’t hit the wrong button and end up cooking my dough on the boiling hot jam cycle, this does not end well!

This is a great recipe and I’d urge you to give it a go, actually it is a combination of Lorraine Pascale’s pizza topping and pizza dough from Katie Caldesi made using half strong bread flour, half 00 pasta flour.

I halved the recipe using 125g bread flour, 125g 00 flour, 160 ml luke warm water, 2.5 g (ish) fast action dried yeast and 1 tsp yeast, and just made 1 large pizza for The Man and I.

After kneading the ingredients for 10 minutes I finally got something approaching the soft, smooth, stretchy dough you see on TV. This is a first for me. I left it to rise for about an hour, till it was double its original size and then swapped over to Lorraine Pascale’s recipe; heating the oven and topping the pizza rather than letting it rise for a second time.

I used less tomato puree than Lorraine suggests, 3 tbsp rather than a tube, a ball on mozzarella, 6 slices of san daniele ham and 3 figs, I may have not rolled the dough out enough but the amount I used seemed appropriate to the size of the pizza I ended up with. This is what it looked like after 30 min in a 230°C oven and scattered with torn basil.

I used to be very sceptical about the combination of meat and fruit, but I’m getting used to the idea now and this is a combination that proves that the union can be a great one. The figs smelled almost christmassy, and had stayed juicy and sweet. Thanks to the hot oven the ham had crisped and it’s saltyness intensified with the creamy mozzarella balancing the two flavours and tying them together.

The base was light a crispy, but would have been better if I could master sliding the topped pizza from a chopping board on onto an over hot tray. I can’t do it, and I worry too much about dropping the whole thing on the floor; but I think we ended up with something pretty authentic, and very very tasty.

Leave a Reply

