flowers from the allotment

27 Jul

The Man and I don’t knowingly grow too much that isn’t edible on the allotment but I have a soft spot for sweet peas. I’m yet to grow them as well as my Dad, but they grow well enough to keep me happy.

I love the fine yet sturdy stems and delicately drooping flowers; the smell takes me straight back to childhood summers. These sweet smelling lovelies are from a pound shop packet of seeds and so far have proved very good value.

I work from home quite a lot and having a bunch on the table while I work is a real pick me up, and that’s worth much more than a pound!

4 Responses to “flowers from the allotment”

  1. bakingteacher July 27, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    What gorgeous colours! For some reason my garden has been a failure this year 😦

    • thehungrysparrow July 29, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      Oh no, it’s frustrating isn’t it? This is the first year we have really had any to speak of.

  2. Joanne August 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    The flowers from your allottment are amazing, such lovely flowers, I think they would go brilliantly at a minimalistic wedding.

    • thehungrysparrow September 15, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Thats such a lovely comment, I’ve often thought they would make nice wedding flowers and they smell wonderful too.

Leave a Reply

