Pretty in Pink Victoria Sponge

28 May

Up until now one of the chinks in my culinary armour has been sponge cakes! The Victoria sponge has been a particular nemesis, if the batter doesn’t curdle I get over excited and open the oven too soon and watch my gorgeous pillowy cakes sink! That is until my Mum bought me Baking Made Easy by Lorraine Pascale. I’ll be honest, I haven’t cooked much from it yet but I’ve high hopes after having a go at her Victoria sponge recipe. Ta da..

This one has been adapted with some added elderflower cordial as a practice run for a Clandestine Cake Club event I’m going to in June. It looked like a Victoria sponge*, tasted like one, and was light and fluffy with not a hint of curdled batter insight. Result! The non standard icing is a mixture of 2 tbsp of freeze-dried raspberries and 1tbsp icing sugar pushed through a sieve over the cake. A fruity, tangy alternative to the traditional sugar topping.

*Purist would argue that it isn’t a true Victoria sponge because of the elderflower, non standard sugar topping and even for some because the jam wasn’t raspberry. I however was too proud to care!

Leave a Reply

