going underground

8 May

On friday evening The Man and I and hundreds of others descended on Ms Marmite Lovers gaff for the Underground Night Market or “a food rave”.  Bringing the US trend to London and building on her previous events the dynamo behind the Underground Restaurant opened her home, garden and summer house for what was interesting mix of market and party.

If you haven’t heard of Ms Marmite lover I urge you to check out her blog The English Can Cook  ; but back to the market. There was music from a fab band, cocktails, hot food, food and drink to take home, some gorgeous craft stalls (I loved Avarea17) and demonstrations in the kitchen, giving me huge shelf envy! Sad but true.

Not living in London and not having easy access to more established markets, and not always being able to travel in for one-off events I thought the Underground Market was a great was of finding out about and making contact with a group of makers and producers I wouldn’t normally have been able to.  They were a pretty twitter savvy bunch,

so I imagine an event like this would be a great place to make contacts. I know that as well as picking up cards I’ve followed people I met on friday on Twitter.

Of the hot food, the stand out’s for me were kimchi sliders from Street Foodie

Mauritian Street Food by Jason and Jaque all the way from Nottingham was a revelation.

The pulled pork from Anna Mae’s Smoke House was seriously good and the bbq sauce stunning, but was too quickly and messily eaten to be photographed! We even had room to squeeze in on of Peck Peck’s ice creams for pudding. The Man loved his Lemon Curd, which seemed to be a popular choice but I wouldn’t have swapped  my gorgeously floral and perfumed honey and lavender flavour.

We went away laden with other goodies for the weekend; flamiche from Squisito was  a very tasty brekkie on Saturday, cheese and salmon from the Artisan Smokehouse helped make a stunning Quiche (not a contradiction in terms), recipe to follow. Sunday morning was definitely pepped up by opening my Mauvaise Maman Gooseberry and Gin jam and we are looking forward to eating our way through our other purchases. All in all it was a fun evening, great to see something supporting small independent producers so well supported and well worth the muggy trek into London! I’m certainly going to keep my eyes peeled for other events.

One Response to “going underground”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. rhubarb and lavender « - May 19, 2011

    […] by Peck Peck’s honey and lavender ice cream at the underground night market, and with a big lavender bush on the […]

Leave a Reply

