It’s cheese, but not as we know it!

7 Mar

One of the great things about The Man travelling with work are the interesting and tasty treats he brings back with him, a particular favorite was bottle of  chocolate genever which came back from one trip. Last months trip to Norway yielded something much more unusual, so much so I haven’t quite known what to say about it. Here it is…

Geitost (pronounced yay-tost) is a goats cheese, so far so good I like goats cheese a lot. This however is totally different; for a start it is made from whey, milk and cream. These are then carefully boiled for hours until the sugars in the milk begin to caramelise giving Geitost a unique colour and taste. It isn’t stored or aged like many cheeses so can be eaten straight away. In Norway it is often eaten, thinly sliced, for breakfast I tried looking for recipes using it but drew a blank; if anyone knows of any I would be interested to hear them. I had mine for lunch so it wasn’t totally authentic but never mind.

So what was it like? Odd was my first reaction! It looks like fudge, it smells a bit like fudge, but with a cheesy edge to it and initially it tastes a bit like fudge too. Then you get a sharper altogether more goaty tang that my taste buds weren’t quite prepared for after the smooth texture and sweet beginning. I didn’t not like it and it certainly isn’t on my list of cheeses to avoid; so far this only includes Stinking Bishop which I’m afraid tasted to me like something had crawled into my mouth and died there. So the jury is out, maybe it’s one to file under acquired taste.

3 Responses to “It’s cheese, but not as we know it!”

  1. Johannes Zachrisson March 21, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I feel some responsibility for your Geitost experience, as I made some suggestions to what Dan should bring home with him. Although, I think your analysis is both entertaining and very much to the point.
    A suggestion to what you can use the cheese for, apart from bread-spread, is in game-sause. It adds a very nice touch to the flavour of a sause with some wild mushrooms, creme fraish and perhaps Juniper berries. I realize that it might be more common to eat animals like moose, grouse or deer in Norway than in the UK, but it should work fine for other types of meat with a strong flavour. It is also quite common to eat the cheese on waffels or pancakes, or sweet bunns.
    Let me know if you need additional supply =)

    Johannes

    • thehungrysparrow March 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Hi Johannes,
      thanks for your suggestion. We actually have some venison sausages in the freezer and some juniper berries in the cupboard so will definitely give your idea a try. (We do still have some left wrapped up tightly in the fridge, but Dan’s mum took some as she loves it.)
      I also imagine it would work better with something sweeter as you suggest. Dan makes very good pancakes so will suggest we have a go.
      Watch this space for our future experiments with geitost!
      Hariet

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. geitost round two « - April 3, 2011

    […] you to Johannes who encouraged me to give geitost another chance.  You can read the discussion here but is seems I underestimated its uses. As we had a lot of the ingredients Johannes mentioned and a […]

Leave a Reply

