Valentine’s Day part 2

27 Feb

I decided to make some valentine’s biscuits for The Man, and some to snaffle myself. It was a first time attempt at shortbread for me, but I used the most simple recipe I could find and crossed my fingers.

Ingredients

150g plain flour

100g unsalted butter

50g caster sugar

Method

– Cream together the butter and sugar in a bowl then gradually mix in the flour.

– Using your hands knead the flour into a smooth dough.

– Roll out to approx 1/2 cm, cut out shapes and place on baking tray.

– Bake at 160c for 10-15 min (or longer depending on your oven) and sprinkle with extra caster sugar as they cool. I also dipped them in chocolate, just because really!

The texture of the shortbread was pretty much spot  on, a little sandy and crumbly but still holding together nicely. I think our oven runs a little cold so next time I’ll cook them for a bit longer for extra crumble but overall it seems a pretty sound recipe and certainly wasn’t as tricky to make as I had thought.

Leave a Reply

