Naughty but nice

30 Jan

I’ve come to realise that I have quite a serious cheese habit, it’s pretty broad ranging; taking in anything American and nacho cheese flavored to bank the breaking and artisan, and pretty much every thing in between. Put me in a cheese shop and I’m happy. Let’s face it cheese is never going to be a health food, but being a firm believer in a little of what you fancy doing you good, occasionally I throw caution to the wind and make something totally artery furring but delicious. This weekend it was a fried cheese salad, using a gorgeous piece of Gubbeen that The Man and I picked up at the market in St Albans. St Albans has a really lively market and a wonderful cheese stall run but two guys who obviously know their stuff and are happy to give advice and tasters.

Gubbeen is a cheese I hadn’t tried before, but is a semi-soft ring washed cheese from Ireland, creamy with I thought a slight tang and The Man felt, a slight barnyard smell; but by other cheese standards nothing terrifying! A quick Google suggested it would fry just fine, so after dusting in flour, egg and bread crumb I fried it for a few minutes on each side until it was runny but still holding its shape. I served it with a tangy salad of leaves, celery, apple and walnuts to cut through the creamy cheese and it was gorgeous, even The Man got over his “barnyard” reservations and loved it.

One Response to “Naughty but nice”

  1. TGW January 31, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    I’ll have to look that stuff out, it sounds quite unique. I’ve never heard of Gubbeen before, but I do like me a tangy cheese.

Leave a Reply

