Malteser Brownies

19 Feb

I’ve been a bit flustered recently with one thing and another and in those circumstances I need to keep myself busy, so I’ve been baking up a storm. This doesn’t always mean baking well, the bread I made on friday to calm myself down with some kneading collapsed totally after I let it rise too quickly. However, I like to think I redeemed myself with these brownies.

The recipe is adapted from Lorraine Pascale’s Baking Made Easy which won me second prize at the allotment association show in the summer, her victoria sponge won me a first so thanks Lorraine! Swapping the oreos for maltesers, some of which have been given a good whack with a rolling-pin (very therapeutic) gives the brownies a lovely malty taste as well as leaving nuggets of biscuits in the cooked mixture. They are very rich, but very good and won’t hang around for long!

Ingredients

  • 165g  butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 200g dark chocolate, grated or finely chopped
  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 2 free-range egg yolks
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 165g soft light brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • pinch salt
  • 150g pack maltesers

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Grease a 20cm/8in square baking tin with butter, then line with baking paper.
  • Melt the butter in a pan over a medium heat. When the butter has melted, remove the pan from the heat and add the grated (or chopped) chocolate. Leave to stand for a few minutes, or until the chocolate melts, and then stir together. Alternatively, you can put the chocolate and butter in a bowl and melt in the microwave in 25-second blasts, stirring well each time.
  • Whisk the eggs, egg yolks and vanilla together in a large bowl until the eggs begin to get light and fluffy. Add the sugar in two additions, whisking between each. Pour it around the side of the egg mix so as not to knock out the air that has been whisked in. Keep whisking until the mixture becomes stiffer. Once the egg mixture is ready, pour the chocolate into it – again around the sides so as not to knock the air out.
  • Open one en of the bag of maltesers and hold it closed so they don’t go every where, place on a hard surface and give the bag a few good whacks with a rolling-pin to break up some of the chocolate.
  • Add the flour, cocoa powder, salt and a the malteasers and stir until fully combined, then pour the mixture into the prepared tin. Bake on the middle shelf of the oven for 25–30 minutes. The middle should be very so slightly gooey. Leave the brownies to cool in the tin.
  • Pull the brownies out of the tin and cut into squares.

3 Responses to “Malteser Brownies”

  1. shaheen February 22, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Lorraines book is on my wishlist and the fact that her recipes have won you some allotment awards is encouraging too. I love the idea of exchanging oreos for maltesers – yum.

  2. Rose August 25, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I surely love how you described the maltesers bringing that malty taste in your brownies. I can’t wait to try the same exact brownie recipe of yours.

  3. SamK August 24, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    I had a craving for something maltesery and came across your recipe on a Google search for ‘maltesers recipe’. As I had also caught the episode when Lorraine made the oreo brownies this was a easy decision for a rainy Saturday morning’s baking! The result is soooo good. I doubt they’ll last long. Even more impressive as they’re my first ever attempt at making brownies! Thank you for sharing your version of this recipe – I highly recommend people try it!

Leave a comment